Loading... Please wait...

Nexus by Korucu


Click the button below to add the Nexus by Korucu to your wish list.


About This Work

Product Description

Composer: Semih Korucu

Instrumentation: Guitar

Era: 21st Century

Description: Nexus: a connection or series of connections linking two or more things.

Nexus can be conceived as a Chaconne but unlike a Chaconne; the composer's intention is not to alter the main theme with variations but to vary the image of the main theme. Every new phrase is the foundation (ground bass) for the next motivic idea. Each variation is an image of the theme and every image has the perspective of a different composer. åÛåÁn other words, Nexus is a set of 14 variations conceived from the perspective of a variety of composers such as Brahms, Beethoven, Piazzola, Bach and Shostakovich (there is also a tribute to Saygun). As a whole what remains is an image of the theme as seen through the eyes of the great masters of wstern music and beyond.

Type of Work: Solo

Nationality: Turkish

University or Organization: Mersin University

Parts: Score 


About Composer/Arranger

Semih KorucuKorucu, Semih (b. November 11, 1965, Ankara). Turkish composer of mostly chamber, vocal and piano works that have been performed in Asia, Europe, South America and North America.

Mr. Korucu studied folk music with Ertuğrul Bayraktar in Ankara in 1984–85 and contemporary music with Ertuğrul Oğuz Fırat in Ankara in 1986–87. He studied analysis, composition and music theory with Cengiz Tanç and counterpoint with Bülent Tarcan at the Mimar Sinan Fine Arts University /Conservatory in İstanbul from 1987–95, where he had post-graduate studies in analysis and composition with İlhan Usmanbaş from 1995–97.

He has a book on music philosophy and aesthetic(2013), in his book he represents his ideas about form and substance in music through quotations by remarkable philosophers who have significant words on music and aesthetic such as Platon, Kant,Hegel, Allen Badiou, Heidegger, Benjamin and Derrida … His interests in literature and philosophy can be traced in all of his works. For example, Non-existing Knight is based on İtalo Clavino's trilogy or Haiku's which he writes the set of poetry in haiku form. He also finds delightful to use variety of resouces like traditional music in his musical approach. He also has a set of traditional turkish music works for different instrumental combinations and voice.

Vendors Other Products

Product Reviews

Write Review

  1. Romanticism

    Posted by Unknown on 17th May 2013

    Beautiful music is not composed very much in our times. Nexus is very delicate and beatiful music for guitar intelligently written.

  2. Wonderful Work

    Posted by Unknown on 17th May 2013

    Great music

chat iconOur newsletter


Recent Updates