Loading... Please wait...

Suite No. 1 in G major, BWV 1007 - 5 Minuet I by Bach/Ellis


Click the button below to add the Suite No. 1 in G major, BWV 1007 - 5 Minuet I by Bach/Ellis to your wish list.


About This Work

Product Description

Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian     

Arranger: Ellis, Benjamin

Instrumentation: Guitar

Era: Baroque

Description: Originally the Cello Suite in G Major, BWV 1007 has been arranged for guitar in the key of C major. The sixth and fifth strings are re-tuned to low C and G respectively. This tuning allows the arrangement to maintain the warmth of the cello while utilizing the resonate qualities of the tonic dominate relationship in the transposed key.

Form: Suite

Type of Work: Solo Guitar

Nationality: German

Parts: Score


About Composer/Arranger

Benjamin EllisBenjamin Ellis received his masters degree from Syracuse University studying under Dr. Kenneth Meyer. While working on his degree, Ellis worked as an adjunct faculty member teaching non-major guitar classes at Syracuse University. He also holds a bachelors degree from the Fredonia School of Music at SUNY Fredonia, where he studied with Evan Drummond. His time in Fredonia included studying in master classes with Luis Zea and Roland Dyens. Ellis, in collaboration with fellow guitarist Ian Hill, performed the US premiere of Dyens’ Comme des Grands in 2010. He has also studied in master classes with Nicholas Goluses, David Tanenbaum, Gaëlle Solal, Matthew Slotkin, Gohar Vardanyan, and Eliot Fisk. He was recently awarded the Creative Opportunity Grant through Syracuse University, giving him the chance to collaborate with composer Sean Doyle in creating a new work for the guitar entitled Dance Suite Miniatures. He is currently collaborating with a+s works, a New York City based Dance Company, on a joint commission for guitar and dance.

Vendors Other Products

Product Reviews

Write Review

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

chat iconOur newsletter


Recent Updates