Loading... Please wait...

Three Preludes for Piano by Hoffman


Click the button below to add the Three Preludes for Piano by Hoffman to your wish list.


About This Work


Composer:  K.L. Hoffman 

Description: "Three Preludes for Piano" is a set of . three small vignettes. Each prelude has a distinct character with the second, middle prelude designed as the centerpiece. The first prelude is dance-like and features a descending Arabic scale motive, representing our fall into sleep. "Naima's Dream" (the second prelude) is based on the John Coltrane tune, "Naima" and features musical elements representing the serenity of a peaceful sleep and the sudden disturbances that sometime plague those in the sandman's grasp. Finally, prelude three sees the Arabic scale motive returning, this time with an ascending, rhythmic drive towards an awakening.

Instrumentation: Piano

Era: 21st Century

Form: Prelude

Type of Work: Solos

Nationality: America

Parts:  Score


About Composer/Arranger

Kenneth Hoffman

K.L. Hoffman is a music educator and composer in Columbus, Ohio. He received his undergraduate degree in Music Education from the Ohio State University and has studied composition with Thomas Wells, Donald Harris, and Daniel Perttu. Mr. Hoffman's compositions have been performed by collegiate and public school performers, including the Ohio State University Men's Glee Club. Mr. Hoffman has been a public school educator and has taught private lessons for several years. Currently, Hoffman is a Graduate Teaching Assistant at The Ohio State University where he teaches courses in music education, brass pedagogy, and assists with The Ohio State University Marching Band.

Vendors Other Products

Product Reviews

Write Review

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Related Products

chat iconOur newsletter


Recent Updates